Oh the Irony! This Article is Too Sassy!

Recently, as I was scrolling through my never ending Facebook feed, I was becoming more and more impatient with the lack of interesting content. The worst post nowadays are these “emotional intrigue” headlines. I fall for them all the time and they just end up being irrelevant to what I wanted to actually read. What inspired this informal rant was an article I read only 5 minutes ago. “I Found An iPhone On The Ground And What I Found In Its Photo Gallery Terrified Me” by Rona Vaselaar is the example I am discussing.

What do you think this article is about?

I bet not what you think!

When I read this headline, I thought it was going to be about a non-fictional personal experience of the author. So, I mean, at most I thought it was going to be about a girl who finds an iPhone and gets a glimpse into the owner’s life or whatever. But no -SPOILER ALERT PEOPLE- its a fictional murder-mystery thriller. What the heck?! That’s not what I wanted. Oh! The deception! I just hate falling for that type of advertisement, man. I could think of the experience as a complete waste of time, but nonetheless the story was pretty decent; so the positivity wins!

Anyway, that was a slight “You want to know what really grinds my gears moment?” Just a completely unproductive and random pet peeve I have.

What do you think of these “emotional intrigue” headlines?

Leave a Reply

